Dear Mary Rowlandson, Andreas Vesalius, & Emily Dickinson

by

It’s lyricism. Because a lyric movement always attracts and repels its characters–anonymous–in their disappearance as well as their presence. And they can be named within the text, named subjectively, objectively, for these characters sometimes become real characters. For instance I wrote a text “…Where the forest is darker” when my father died. But I don’t articulate any form of the word father and I never articulate the word mother, my mother who was so present at the death of my father. So in fact even in the most extreme situations, like death, like a theme of death, like the death theme, the character remains anonymous. There is, let me say, affectivity that causes the anonymity to come and screen an emotion or transgression. –Anne-Marie Albiach

